The winners of the 2019 Homeowners’ Choice Awards! Image

The winners of the 2019 Homeowners’ Choice Awards!

By Newinhomes on Apr 18, 2019

Tarion Warranty Corporation announced the winners of the 2019 Homeowners’ Choice Awards! These are officially the top builders in Ontario with regards to customer service and customer satisfaction.

The Homeowners’ Choice Awards are the only new home building industry awards in the province where the winners are based purely on homeowner feedback. 

“A new home is a place to make memories,” says Tarion President and CEO Howard Bogach, “and a builder has a big role in determining whether a homeowner’s first memories are positive ones. Thanks to their exemplary customer service, this year’s award recipients not only met – but exceeded – expectations and by so doing set an example for others to follow.”

2019 Homeowners' Choice Awards winners:

  • Chris King and Sons Construction Ltd. – Small Volume Category 
  • Timberland Homes – Medium Volume Category  
  • Hayhoe Homes – Large Volume Category
  • Brookfield Residential – High-Rise Category 
Last year, Tarion polled 54,518 new home buyers in Ontario, surveying them on their before and after sales experience with their builder. Tarion received 11,376 responses, and this is what determined the finalists in each category (which are based on number of possessions in a year). 

“A well built home backed by excellent customer service equals a satisfied homeowner,” says Bogach. “Through Tarion’s awards program, these happy homeowners are able to recognize their builders for going the extra mile and this helps build confidence in the new home building industry as a whole. We congratulate this year’s recipients for their success in creating a positive homebuying experience that their homeowners are happy to share.” 

Tarion also named Daniels as the winner of the Ernest Assaly Award, which goes to qualifying builders for their reputation of high quality building, innovation, outstanding customer service, and community involvement. This award is like a lifetime achievement award and can only be received once. The winner of the Ernest Assaly Award is selected by Tarion’s Board of Directors, and is not determined by homeowners.

We want to echo Bogarch’s comments - when you buy a pre-construction home, you’re placing a lot of faith in the builder. You should always do your research before making a purchasing decision to determine if the builder is a good fit for you. You should find out if they’re communicative, if they have a history of delays, if they’ve ever cancelled a project, or had major claims made against them through Tarion. 

That’s what’s great about the Homeowners’ Choice Awards - you know that these builders are among the best when it comes to customer satisfaction. See all the finalists and past winners here! 


Sign-up for our Newsletter